Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

denied/ put in request for consideration ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• denied/ put in request for consideration ?

I was denied my first time applying for SSI/disability and I appealed it by a request for consideration...I was just wondering if anyone knew how long that process takes? Is it any different time amount then if I would of requested a hearing?Any info you could give me I would appreciate it..Thanks

Jennifer
    Interstitial Cystitis(Interstim Therapy)
    IBS
    Fibromyalgia
    Pseudotumor cerebri
    Type 2 Diabetes

When I applied, I was also denied initially. Then, I applied for the reconsideration. If I am remembering right, I think it took about 4-5 mo for the denial that time. Then, I filed the request for the hearing before the judge. I hired an attorney and ended up winning that time. I am by no means an expert on this, but I think you have to file for the reconsideration before they will let you file the request for the hearing. (Unless they have changed things or something, or unless I am just wrong. Like, I said, I am definately not an expert on this or anything! )

Anyway, good luck to you! I hope things go well for you and you win win this time!

Hugs,
    Amy

Comment

Please read our articles on SSA disability in our patient handbook. They provide timelines, etc.

http://www.ic-network.com/handbook/

Jill
      Would you like to talk with someone about your IC struggles? The ICN now offers personal coaching sessions that include myself, Julie Beyer RD on the diet and Dr. Heather Howard on Sexuality. http://www.icnsales.com/icn-personal-coaching/

Looking for books, magazines & reports on IC? Please visit the ICN Shop at: http://www.icnsales.com: Your ICN subscription & purchases in our shop support these message boards, chats and special events. BECOME AN ICN ANGEL TODAY!