How do you know?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you know?

I am relatively new to all of this-diagnosed in October with hydro-cysto. I am in my third bad flare. This one is the worst-second day of severe bladder burn/pain, and first time frequency and terrible pressure.

I started taking pyridium yesterday and am on Elavil 20mg at night. My question is-my pain is not getting any better, maybe even a little worse. How do you know for sure if it's not a uti. My doc acts all mad if I call and now that I have taken a pyridium, can they even tell if I have a uti? Stupid questions, I know, but I am lost and in bad pain. Help!

Hi, you ask a very good question! The truth is, we CAN'T tell the difference between an IC flare or a UTI, at least not without a test kit, because they both feel exactly the same!

Any doctor who knows ANYTHING about IC ought to know that. But sadly, many doctors are still quite ignorant about IC, and don't even seem to exhibit a willingness to learn.

Some IC'ers have bought test kits, I'm not sure what the name of it is, but I think they are available at the drug store? But I always prefer to go in and be tested, because when I go into the ER and I'm tested, they culture it for me to find out which antibiotic to use (if in fact it is a UTI rather than a flare.)

I hope you feel better soon! There are so many self-help suggestions for flares in the patient handbook - if you are feeling well enough, perhaps you could read a bit in there and see if any of those things could help you feel better until the flare passes?

Blessings,
    Lori

Comment

Well thats a really good question and I guess even after 2years of having IC I still sometimes dont know!!!
      Although you do get abit more familiar with symptoms and start to know when its a uti but there have been many times when I'm not sure! I guess we are all the same!

Sometimes I am so bad I think to myself "I MUST HAVE A UTI" then I do a test and its negative!!!!!