ceramics :]

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ceramics :]

ceramics is probably the most relaxing hobby for me.
    my ceramic teacher that i had last year is letting me use her kiln and glaze as long as i pay for my own clay.

it's rather soothing and i rarely make stuff from the potters wheel.
    doing that requires a lot of effort and can cause major pain to the bladder!
    you can make so much without the potters wheel [yes even pots!]

if you have any questions on how to make easy stuff just let me know. :]
    yep. just thought that i should share this rather grand hobby.
    I have been battling IC since I was 5 years of age. I was finally officially diagnosed with IC when I was 17 years of age. I am currently attend East Tennessee State University in order to become an Epidemiologist. I would love to assist with finding the cure for this painful disease.

Hi, ashley and to our little craft corner, I would love to see some of your work, ..I did a course of painting on ceramics which was very relaxing.
    How do you make the pots without the wheel ??, if you have the time I would love to read some more about it,
    Martha
    Martha

Comment

ceramics

Originally posted by sheebah
      Hi, ashley and to our little craft corner, I would love to see some of your work, ..I did a course of painting on ceramics which was very relaxing.
      How do you make the pots without the wheel ??, if you have the time I would love to read some more about it,
      Martha
      you can make pots by using the coil method.
      you take a hunk of clay and flatten it out.
      put a bowl upside down and use a pencil to cut through the clay into a circle using the upside down bowl as a guide line.
      smooth that circle out but try not to flatten it more than it already is.
      than you take a smaller hunk of clay and roll it between your hands.
      [like kids will do with playdough to make snakes]