I'm losing my

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm losing my

Hey, my name is Emily, most of you know me as Lexus. I documented an IC trial study for AF-219 a few years back on this forum. Here's my dilemma:
    I've been with the same company for over ten years (I'm a retail store manager). Today, my boss meets me at work to tell me I'm being placed on suspension and possibly fired because I've had to take too many sit down breaks in the past two weeks. (Ive been in a horrible flare and I ran short on my pain medicine). I've battled with IC for my entire life, I'm 30 now. My doctor is sending them what they need, but even if they accept it and are willing to accommodate, I don't want to go back. I was treated very badly this morning. I was in tears. They treated me as if I had done something horrific. I don't have anything bad on my record at work. I'm just going through a horrible flare. They didn't want to know what was wrong with me. I have told my boss several times about my IC. I've never been offered any type of accommodations or anything of the sort. I've always been able to just push through, because honestly, I don't have a choice. I support myself. I don't have anyone else to rely on.
    I'm curious what my next steps should be. Can they fire me for this? They were aware I have this condition. Should I contact a lawyer? I'm so blown away by the whole thing. I am located in Alabama, but my company is an EOE. Thank you for any advice on this. I'm scared.
    IC my whole life. Diagnosed 9 years ago. 30-50 potty trips a day. Currently participating in AF219-005, a new drug study for IC. Hopeful for a cure.
    This is the link to my updates on the study drug: http://www.ic-network.com/forum/show...r-new-medicine

Re: I'm losing my

I am so sorry you are going through this! I am sorry too that nobody has responded yet.