Just Diagnosed in January

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just Diagnosed in January

Hello Everyone! I am new to this. I was diagnosed with I.C. on January 11, 2006. Before that I had an Urethral Diverticulum removed in April of 2006. I thought I was just having continued symptoms from that surgery. My urologist gave me pamphlets on I.C. to read. I also came to this website to get more information. I had the cysto and hydrodistention in January. I am glad to know that I am not alone and glad for the diagnosis. But, it is alot to swallow. I am trying to follow the diet but sometimes it is really tough. I have been having pain daily. Is that normal? My uro has me taking "bladder treatments" once weekly for 6 weeks. This afternoon I will be going in for my 5th treatment. I have not witnessed to much of a result from these...so far. I am currently taking a pain medicine, Sanctura,Vistaril, and Imprimine(?) at night. The last 2 meds my uro said would help me to sleep but I haven't noticed that effect. Any advice you have would help alot. Thanks! bbtex
    Last edited by bbtex; 02-20-2007, 08:21 AM.

Glad that you found the boards. First off, I hate to be the bearer of bad tidings, but the IC diet is really important for most people. However, you will be happy to know that if you follow the diet strictly for about two to three weeks, then slowly add things back in, you should be able to identify the particular trigger foods that affect you, and you can add back most of the other stuff. For example, I cannot have any caffeine at all, but others can. I can drink most types of alcohol, while some can't. So it's really an individual thing that you have to figure out.