Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP Do I Have IC?

Hey everyone!

I am new to this post and wondering if I have IC? This is my story.

Beginning at age 4 my mother took me to the doctors because I complained of burning, frequency, and was constantly holding myself. They ran all kind of tests- checking for infection, structual deformities, ect... My mother was DES so they thought it may be a deformity. They found nothing and in time the symptoms subsided. But again throughout my teenage years I started with the same symptoms again. It begins with me going to the bathroom when my bladder is full and I really have to go. After I empy out I present with the sensation that "uht oh" I feel like I gotta go again. When I do go its only drops and burns with some pressure in lower abdomen. Now in one years time. I would get it once a month, then the next month- twice, then the next once a week, then it would be gone. When I get the problem I found that if I hold the urge to go for 30 mins. to 1 hour it will resolve itself. Years ago I use to go to bed with towels between my legs because I had school in the morning and I was so tired that I could stand keep getting up and the burning and pressure was terrible. I know it sounds so unsanitary but I really was suffering. But I didn't want to go through the testing because I thought they wouldn't find anything anyways and it usually goes away.

It went in remission for a few years then I began with occasional episodes in my later 20s. I went for urine tests which sometimes came back positive and sometimes negative. I mentioned to my pcp and he wasn't too concerned and stated to come in during an occurence, but I never did. It wasn't until my step dad was diagnosed with bladder ca and I took him to an appt. - it was in the office when I first saw the pamplet on IC and read it thinking this sounds like me.