hi i was recently diagnosed and want to share.my story

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hi i was recently diagnosed and want to share.my story

Hi my name is Anna. I have had symptoms since the end of july. I thought I had a bad uti but just recently I went to a urologist and was diagnosed. Can't say I was too happy about having a chronic disorder. He planned on doing a cystscopy in october. Im not going to lie....im nervous about it and how it will feel. Any tips or advice???? Im currently taking elmiron, prelief, urelle, and diet changes. I also would appreciate advice on pain free or flare free sex. I know its early for me to be diagnosed but.that is probably good. I appreciate any and all.help. im new at this.....hope to chat with you!!

Welcome sister newbie

I too have been newly diagnosed. I am forgoing the Cystoscopy as I had one ten years ago for chronic UTI's and they found nothing wrong with me. I've heard from my doctor that a Cystoscopy cannot really identify IC. don't want to scare you but it's not pleasant. It felt like instant UTI pain in the urethra. I am seeing a Urologist next week however for ongoing management of this horrible condition. I'm working with diet as well as Elmiron 3x daily. I'm also on on Flavoxate for bladder spasms. Anyone taking that? Hang in there hon. It's draining and seems like a long road ahead but I'm hoping for the best!

Comment

Hi

Hi there,

I was diagnosed not too long ago either. I have not had a cystosopy so can't comment on that, I have refused it so far because I know how much catheters hurt me.