New to ICN ? about PT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to ICN ? about PT

Hello my name is Julie I am new to ICN,finding it very helpful.Suffered with out a diagnosis for most of my life was seeing a urologist in Lancaster PA for 8 yrs finally saw another for a 2nd opinion and he sent me to Dr Kristene Whitmore (who I love),She did reconstructive surgery,pelvic and bladder,my bladder had herniated thru abdominal wall mucsle& had attached to the wall,she did an awesome job that is when she confirmed the IC with the ulcers,I am now taking Elmiron,ibuprofen800mg,amrix15mg,hydrocodone5/500,prilosec20mg,valium supp ,estace cream ditropan5mg,cromolyn petrolatum and bladder instillations 1xwk,my question or concern is about the internal PT,Im supposed to start on fri for hightone pelvic floor muscle dysfunction,and I have no idea what to expect and Im getting very anxious and fear it will be too painful since sex is like 10 for pain.any info would be greatly appreciated Thanks Julie
    Last edited by JulieA; 09-27-2011, 01:55 PM. Reason: spelling

Hi, Julie....I can fully understand your anxiety about the PT. I felt the same way, but honestly, they handled things so "clinical" that it's no different than any treatment other than it's quite "private" indeed. It's my understanding from literature I've read from the ICA about PFD that the internal therapy should only be done as you can tolerate it and may need to begin with external first. That was how I was treated.

The key to most treatments regarding our IC/PFD is relaxation. Prayers that your therapist is experienced with IC and you feel the results quickly.
    Never heard of IC til suspected....Never knew so many suffer from it. Praying for a cure. I've found answers...so can you...keep the hope.

11/2007 IC Symptoms began during recovery of surgery for bladder susp & hysto: painful/urge/freq urination up to 50 times a day, pain walking, even water hurts.