Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I cannot function in school

Hello
    I am a senior radiology student. I was diagnosed with IC in Sept 00. My last doctor did not do much to help. I had several hydrodistentions, but they only lasted at most 3 months and I still had pain and frequency. Then we tried DMSO. Those treatments lasted about a month at a time.

I have been in a major flare for over two weeks now. I just started on Elmiron last week. I have missed 3 days of school. I can only miss up to 4 more in the next 5 months, so I come to school when I am in severe pain. However, I can hardly function. I don't know what to do.

If anybody has any suggestions please let me know.

Louise
    Louise
    West Virginia Interstitial Cystitis/Prostatitis Support Group Leader
    [email protected]

Louise,

I know you're in a hard position. My attendance is scrutinized to the nth degree... and so is my participation.

Depending on your college or university, you may have a centre for students with disabilities. In Canada they have to try to accomodate you... in my case I'm taking longer to do my degree than I should (I just got permission to drop a course today in fact). I go to class when I'm in pain, but like you, it's unproductive time. They should be able to accomodate you in some way - it's a matter of finding the services available.

Have you talked to your profs at all? I've had some good experiences and bad, but in the long run it's been worth it.

Good luck!

Liisa
    All obstacles in life are mere opportunities.

- Jesper Larson, Danish Mathematician

Comment

Hey