Diet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diet.

I'm brand new to this diet and I got a really basic diet list from the IC Association and it leaves a lot out. I sometimes eat vanilla pudding, fritos and other things that seem to be ok. Fritos is corn chips, salts and corn oil. I am so unsure if any of this is is even safe and the list I printed out doesn't really give me a lot of information. Plus, my Dr. didn't give me too much info on IC, either. Is there anywhere I can get a more of a detailed list for the diet?

http://www.ic-network.com/handbook/diet.html

I prefer this list because it's more specific. Also it's really important to become a label reader. For example, vanilla pudding in itself may be ok, but the added colors & preservatives can be a problem. So, try as much as possible to avoid chemical ingredients & preservatives (especially citric acid, sorbic acid, sulfates, sulfites, nitrates, nitrites) in even "safe" foods.

Hope you are feeling better soon!
    Kadi

-------------------------------------------------------------
    I am not a medical authority nor do I offer medical advice. In all cases, I strongly encourage you to discuss your medical treatment with your personal medical care provider. Only they can, and should, give medical recommendations to you.
    ------------------------------------------------------

New favorite quote: "God gives us only what we can handle. Apparently God thinks I'm a bad-ass" ~Author Unknown
    Source - Pinterest
    "

Current treatments:
    -IC diet
    -Elavil 50mg at night
    -Continuous use birth control pills (4-5 periods/year)
    -Heparin/Marcaine/Sodium Bicarb home instills at night 3-4x per week, more often if needed
    -Pyridium if needed,
    -Pain medicine at bedtime daily, as needed during the day several times per week
    -Antibiotic when doing an instillation to prevent UTI
    -Colace & SmartFiber to treat chronic constipation from meds, Fleet enema as needed