Can rescues cause flares?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can rescues cause flares?

Hi, everybody! I'm new to the ic-network family. Diag'd IC after 1 year of symptoms...had my second rescue instillation(heparin/lido) this week. The 1st caused irritation with urination for 24 hrs, but the 2nd seems to have caused a flare. Normal urinate every 1 1/2 hrs, but for the last 2 days, it's been between every 15 -30, finally seeming to calm down a bit this evening (although last evening was easier vs. the day, too). I'm just wondering if the instills are worth it if it causes a flare? I don't know if I've ever had a true UTI, so I kind of think it's not that...has anyone else experienced flares afterward?? Thanks!

Yes, I had a similar experience with the same type of instillation. I had success with them for at least 5 or so times before I had these symptoms. I didn't have an infection. If the flare calms down within a reasonable amount of time, I would continue getting the instills. It was my experience that it didn't, so I stopped them. This summer I'm trying a new cocktail.
    ----------------------
    -Amanda
    34 years old, bladder symptoms all my life
    diagnosed with PFD and VV October 2009; IC May 2010

Current meds:
    Cystoprotek 2 pills twice a day, Hydroxyzine 10 mg, Gabapentin 600 mg, Myrbetriq 25mg, Zoloft 25 mg, Mircrogestin, capsaicin cream (for vulva)
    Other past treatments:
    IC diet, physical therapy, Traumeel injections as needed, TENS unit, heating pad, instills with sodium bicarb, lidocaine, and mucosa compositum
    Tried and didn't work:
    Pyridium, Singlair, Nortriptyline, Elmiron, lidocaine and heparin instills (worked at first, then didn't anymore), various creams, acupuncture

Comment

I'm curious about the type of instillation you're trying next. Also, I notice you've used a TENS unit. Did you have treatments with a TENS or do you own one?

Comment