Yoga and Meditation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yoga and Meditation

I've had IC since 2002 and in the early stages I was on traditional IC treatments. After 3 years of traditional IC treatment, I decided to cease using them for many reasons. For one the side effects and two for the longterm complications they may cause to other organs.

In 2005, I began to use a strict IC diet along with weight training. I also began to incorporate yoga and meditation.

Meditation has done allot to decrease my IC symptoms and discomfort. The results have been amazing.There are times I feel that my IC does not exist.

Meditation is mind/body medicine. The meditaion I use is called Pranayam. The yoga I use is called Yoga Aasan. I do both of these daily for approximately 45 minutes. I weight train 4 times a week. I've been using the three practices for about 2 years. All have been used with other illnesses with great results.

I've come a long way, in learning to live with my IC. I've been able to continue to work and do many of the things I did when I didn't have IC. I've been able to eat things which I couldn't really eat in the early stages. I owe this allot to yoga, meditation and weight training .

The mind is a powerful tool. It can be used to control what you feel in your own body. That's why meditation has worked for myself and many others. I have found throughtout the years in living with my IC, that it is worth exploring other treatments other then the traditional medicine. You never know what you may discover, and what you find may help you allot in living with your IC. Never limit yourself to one treatment option. I'm glad I didn't.

Hope this was of some help to all of you.
    Photoboy61