Broth culture question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Broth culture question

I am new to thinking of IC as bacterial, having gone through so many a/bs, yet I have come back to thinking that there may/must be some bugs lurking there to be causing these symptoms.... too tiny to be detected on agar culture.... or maybe I am just getting increasingly desperate....

I am looking for any info on Broth culture.

If anyone can help, please do post!

Can you get it done in the UK, or only in the USA? Has anyone had it done and found bacteria and treated them??

xx
    I am in my mid thirties and single mum to two beautiful children. Bladder symptoms suddenly appeared November 2012 following severe ill health with cryptosporidium and gastritis.Apparent UTI never cleared up; ten different antibiotics later had rigid cystoscopy with hydrodistention and bladder biopsy. Diagnosed with IC April 2013 following discovery of chronic inflammation and mast cells++.Daily severe pain, frequency, urgency and urinary hesitancy.You can find me at [COLOR="#000080"]http://www.strugglingtosurvive35.blogspot.co.uk - or sometimes .com

Current meds: just discontinued Elmiron, due to rectal bleed, plus hair loss and total exhaustion. was only on it a month. v upset.Fentanyl 50mg per 3 days pain patches (trying to reduce), Tramadol 150mg emergency top up, Diazepam 5mg if needed. Zolpidem 10mg per night. Past meds: Many a/bs including Ciprofloxacin and Cephalexin. Co-codamol,codeine, other mild painkillers. Cetirizine, Cimetidine, Nortriptyline and Hydroxyzine, all discontinued.

Self-help: Avoiding dietary triggers, rest, hot baths, hot water bottles, cool packs, trying to reduce stress. writing my blog sometimes helps, playing with my children.
    Alternative therapy: reflexology and massage. Acupuncture limited help.