superior hypogastric plexus block

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• superior hypogastric plexus block

I'm scheduled to have a superior hypogastric plexus block in a couple of weeks. I'm a little nervous about the whole thing and am wondering how much time if any I need to take off from work. I'm a nurse and am on my feet all day long. If anyone has any experience with this, please let me know. Thanks so much.

I was fine later that day. Your back might be a little sore where they do the injectiobns, but that should be about it.

Please let us know how it goes. I only had one, and of course that day I was not symptomatic so they could not tell if it worked. So, i waited until symptoms returned (now) and will try a second one.

Comment

nerve block

Personally, I wouldn't do another nerve block- ever! I went for my first one, the pain from IC was unrelenting. Since then, which was 2/15, I have had severe back pain, knee, and leg muscle pain. I can hardly walk. I can't get up in the mornings, and it is extremely difficult for me to bend my knees to sit or get up. Picture this with IC! I've gone for an MRI, x-rays and blood work and am still waiting for the results. I've been forced out of my job and now cry everyday because I miss it so much. I just can't do nursing right now. Please be very informed before having this procedure. Check out the procedure itself, maybe get a second opinion and check out the doctor doing the procedure.

Comment

I cry too

Hi Diane,

I can't work either because I'm still in moderate pain despite pain treatments, have bad nights, and my neuropathic pain pills slow my mind down too much. This is no good in the work place where employers want everything done yesterday.

Like you, I cry and am really upset at all the things I miss out on, like work, money, and even sex with my husband.