Interstim Journal II -Two days to go til first stage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interstim Journal II -Two days to go til first stage

Hello everyone! I think most of you know that I am having my first stage surgery on Friday. Since Jen's diary has been so helpful to me and I'm sure, to others, I thought that I would do one as well. Jen's main issue is urgency/ frequency, and mine is severe retention, so those of you suffering from retention will get my view on the surgery.

I have been self-cathing for about eight months now. I can void on my own a couple times a day and then I cath a couple times a day. In reality, I shouldn't be voiding on my own at all, because when I do, I always have to push to get the flow going and to keep it going. Not good!!! Also, I have bladder spasms that seem to worsen after I void. And, whether I cath or void on my own, I have urgency after the void. I can usually go back into the bathroom or re-cath and get more urine out. Also, I have pretty much lost all urges...I don't ever feel as though I have to go, except for the urgency after voids. Other times, I just know that I need to because it's been many hours or sometimes I feel a slight pressure. Also, I have severe constipation not caused by meds. I go anywhere from three to four days to two weeks without a bowel movement! I often even take correctol or senekot and it's still days before I can have a bm...and the straining is horrific to get it out, with or without stool softeners and laxatives. And, I have the "urgency" after a bowel movement as well...I always feel like there is more there but can't get it out. So, in one sense, I guess this is better than the frequency that many suffer, but in another, cathing sucks and I am always in pain and worried about infections and worried that I won't be able to get the urine out through voiding OR cathing (this has happened before and I thought I was going to die it hurt so bad).