Interstim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interstim

I am interested in Interstim for retention. I am unable to void on my own and use a catheter (I used to be able to void on my own but lost the ability since I've been cathing for about 6 years) Weird. Anyway, I don't think I can get Interstim until after I have kids, if I want kids. But I'm curious about it. From other testimonials I've read it can work miracles. I might get it one day if it is worth it. How painful is the surgery and recovery and how did you hide it from co-workers? I don't want everyone to know if I get it!
    Feel Free to Private Message me or E-mail me at
    [email protected]

Altough I have had IC symptoms in the past my main issue is urinary retention - I am DESPERATE for an answer. I have to self-cath every time I go to the bathroom and have been since 2000. I feel helpless. Any advice would be appreciated.

--------------------------------
    Interstim Trial on 12/21/07 - Didn't work so no InterStim for me

Tried:

Worked - Ditropan 15mg (and helps you sleep!) Off it now though

Didn't Work - Vesicare, Enablex, Detrol

Macrobid 50mg/day for to ward off infections
    Self-Cath (can't go on my own!) for retention
    Birth Control - Nothing- Quit Yasmin (It's a Diuretic!)

Hi! You can still have kids and a vaginal birth with the stim. You have to turn it off during pregnancy. The box id very obvious. If you wore a lose shirt I bet you could hide it. With the help of pain meds, the surgery was very easy. I noticed I got tired easy, but besides that My pain never got higher than a 5 unless I forgot my meds. Hope this helps!

Erika
    IC diagnosed officially via cysto/urodynamics 1/26/07

Grade II Endometriosis diagnosed via lap 12/11/07

"Fall down seven times, Stand up eight."

"Life is a tragedy for those who feel and a comedy for those who think."

Current Treatments:
    Interstim Since 5/25/07!
    Birth Control

Comment

Thank you so much for responding!