Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

will low dose of elavil help anxiety & depression too?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• will low dose of elavil help anxiety & depression too?

My Uro just prescribed 10mg of elavil to try for my urgency and pain (PFD & VV) and if I don't get any side effects, then I can increase it to 20mg. My anxiety and depression seem to be worse right now...with such a low dose, will it help this too or should I be taking another med to go along with this? I think this is what some of other IC'ers do? I am new with IC. I have such fear with taking more meds because of the side effects. I take Elmiron (2 months now) and a sleeping pill at night. I already have constipation and have found with taking other anti-depressions (celexa & remeron) seem to give me urine retention so I stopped taking them but I really need to get a grip on this and just don't know what to do? Any advise would really help!!! Thanks!

You have to take 50-100mg for it to be a therapeutic dose for anxiety or depression. Your Uro certainly can raise the dosage. I take 50mg. They usually don't like to go above 75mg. If that doesn't work out for you, your PCP can prescribe an additional antidepressant that won't interact with the 10 mg of elavil you're taking.
    Your Friend,
    Michelle

Diagnosed: 10/16/09

Elmiron, 100mg 2x per day
    Imipramine, 10 mg per day
    Diazepam 10 mg for sleep
    Zyrtec
    Zovia, birth control (ongoing-no periods)
    Probiotics
    Hydrocodone, 2 pills a day (at any time of day)

Comment

Thanks for the scoop Michelle, you mentioned that they don't like to go above the 75mgs, is it because of the side effects? I am a little concerned with one about having difficulty urinating? and I really don't want that to happen...that is one of the reasons I am leery to take it but I am going to start tonight...otherwise, how will I ever know!?

Comment